Skip to content

Rt. Hon Carwyn Jones AM

Related Links

Rt. Hon Carwyn Jones AM is the First Minister of the Welsh Government.
Find out more about the work we do in raising Wales' international profile, as well as trade, investment, tourism and funding.
Rt. Hon Carwyn Jones AM
Biographical details and responsibilities of the First Minister of Wales.

Carwyn Jones was born in 1967, he was educated at Brynteg Comprehensive School, Bridgend, University of Wales, Aberystwyth and Inns of Court School of Law, London. Prior to his election, he was a barrister in chambers in Swansea specialising in Criminal, Family and Personal Injury Law and a professional tutor at Cardiff University Law School. He has been a Bridgend County Borough Councillor and was Chair of the County Borough Council Labour Group. He is also a member of Amnesty International, Unison, Unite the Union and the Fabian Society. He has been a Labour Party member since 1987 and played an active role in the 'Yes for Wales' campaign.

Carwyn Jones was appointed as a Deputy Secretary in March 2000 and replaced Christine Gwyther as Agriculture and Rural Development Secretary on the eve of the Royal Welsh Agricultural Show in July 2000.

In March 2002 the role of Business Minister was added to his Rural Affairs portfolio. In June 2002 he was appointed Minister for Open Government. In May 2003 he was appointed Minister for the Environment, Planning and the Countryside. In May 2007 he was appointed Minister for Education, Culture and the Welsh Language and from July 2007 was appointed Counsel General and Leader of the House.

Following the retirement of Rhodri Morgan AM in December 2009, he was appointed First Minister of Wales.  He was appointed to the Privy Council on 9 June 2010.  Following re-election to the National Assembly for Wales in May 2011, Carwyn Jones was re-appointed First Minister by Her Majesty The Queen, following nomination by the National Assembly for Wales.

His interests include sport, reading and travel.  He is a fluent Welsh speaker.

The First Minister is responsible for:

  • Exercise of functions by the Welsh Government;
  • Strategic and corporate planning in the Welsh Government;
  • The legislative programme;
  • The First Minister’s Delivery Unit;
  • Policy development and coordination of policy;
  • Relationships with the rest of the United Kingdom, Europe, Internationally and Wales Abroad;
  • All Welsh Government international offices and presence abroad;
  • The strategic direction on European Union policy matters, including attendance at Joint Ministerial Council (Europe);
  • Freedom of Information (including the access to Public Records and the National Archive for Wales);
  • Overall responsibility for Openness in Government;
  • Civil Contingencies;
  • Oversight of Welsh Government relationships with the Wales Audit Office;
  • The work of the Economic Research Advisory Panel;
  • Major energy facilities and infrastructure, devolution in energy matters, steel and coal;
  • Major events;
  • Overall strategic responsibility for communications;
  • Staffing/Civil Service including the terms and conditions of Special Advisers and Welsh Government civil servants but not members of the Senior Civil Service; 
  • Overall responsibility for public appointments (i.e. ensuring that public appointments made by the Welsh Government are made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments' Code). Other Ministers will be responsible for public appointments issues within their portfolio area;
  • The Ministerial Code;
  • Welsh language – including overseeing and co-ordinating general Welsh language policy. (Other Ministers are responsible for Welsh language issues within their policy areas);
  • Ministerial functions emanating from the Welsh Language Act 1993;
  • Welsh Language Commissioner;
  • Tribunals.

Writing to Ministers

Contact Carwyn Jones by email at:

We aim to provide a response to correspondence to Ministers, including electronic mail within 17 working days.  Ministers will respond to matters that fall within their portfolio. Please follow the link ‘Writing to Ministers’ on the right hand side to direct your correspondence to the right Minister.