Skip to content

Digital Wales Advisory Network (Board)

Related Links

The report is the Board’s first Annual Report. It includes details of the major issues and recommendations considered by the Board during 2011.

We have set up an external advisory network, the Digital Wales Advisory Network, to provide Ministers with regular expert advice.

In late 2010, we established the Digital Wales Advisory Board (DWAB) to provide Ministers with regular expert advice. Their first Annual Report is available to download here. In 2012, we have evolved the board into a Network.


Membership has been drawn from a range of interests, reflecting both our commitment to inclusive policy making and expertise from each of the 5 main themes. All members have agreed to work on a pro-bono basis.

  • Simon Gibson OBE (Independent Chair) - Chief Executive of Wesley Clover, a venture fund specialising in seeding technology companies. He previously co-founded Ubiquity Software Corporation - named Innovator of the year in 2001
  • James Elias – Marketing Director Google UK. Before Joining Google, James spent seven years helping to build a name for US brand E-Trade in the UK, and immediately before joining Google gained an MBA from the Insead Business School in France
  • Dr David Grant CBE - Vice-Chancellor of Cardiff University since October 2001. Dr Grant has overseen the merger between Cardiff University and the University Of Wales College Of Medicine and the awarding of University Status to Cardiff
  • Prof. Ian Hargreaves CBE - Professor of Digital Economy at Cardiff University. Prof. Hargreaves is the Chair of Digital Economy, based jointly in Cardiff School of Journalism, Media and Cultural Studies and Cardiff Business School
  • Ron Jones CBE - Chair of the Creative Industries Panel and Executive Chairman of Tinopolis, one of the UK’s largest independent television production companies

Wider membership

  • Dr Sangeet Bhullar - the Founder and Executive Director of WISE KIDS, a non-profit organisation providing innovative training programmes and consultancy in New Media, Internet and Mobile Technologies, Internet Proficiency, Literacy and Safety
  • Andrew Green - Chief Executive Officer of the National Library of Wales.  The National Library is well known around the world for its work on digitisation: converting print, archival and other documents into digital versions and making them available to all through the Web
  • Professor Gareth Hughes - until his recent retirement, the Chief Executive of the European Regional Information Society Association (ERIS) - a European regional network association committed to supporting members’ economic and social development through ICT-based innovation
  • David Hylands – until his recent retirement, the Chief Information Systems Officer at Wrexham County Borough Council and a Local Government representative on the Public Sector Broadband Aggregation Project
  • Huw Jones – Chair of S4C Authority and Deputy Chair of the Wales Employment and Skills Board. Previously S4C’s longest serving Chief Executive
  • Jean-Francois Schmid - Director of Research and Technology at BT Innovate & Design. Prior to BT, he was Senior Strategy Director for Cable & Wireless focusing on their international operations