Skip to content

Framework for Children's Learning for 3 to 7-year olds in Wales

Related Links

Tell us if you want any of the documents on this page in an alternative format.
This document sets out our requirements for the Foundation Phase for 3 to 7-year-olds in Wales.

The statutory Areas of Learning in the Foundation Phase are:

  • Personal and Social Development, Well-being and Cultural Diversity
  • Language, Literacy and Communication Skills
  • Mathematical Development
  • Welsh Language Development
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Creative Development.

For each Area of Learning the educational programme sets out what children should be taught. The outcomes set out the expected standards of children’s performance.